Cars and trucks VS trains

Once again, I watched my email pile up wit reports of Amtrak trains crashing into a car or a truck. One might think that people would remember the very horrific crash in Nevada. I wonder if people even give that crash a second thought. I would hope so for the families that lost loved ones that day. No matter what the Operation Lifesaver Program does it does not seem enough. Wait. breaking news…a man just commuted suicide by train and all found was a hand. Man, that is not how I want to go. I remember few years ago I left St. Louis to go to Chicago and then turn some papers over to a another person that worked for the company. I got to Chicago, walked into Union Station and then walked back into the departure area and got back on the Southbound train for St. Louis. You can’t do that now because of the schedules. I remember almost falling asleep, bobbing my head. Then I hear it. I heard the train go into emergency. Looked up and out the window, and saw that head flying passed. I turned on the scanner, an started to listen. We were just two miles from Carlinville, Illinois. the local sheriff came and did his investigation. I peeked out the vestibule window and saw he other northbound waiting just a few hundred feet away. This man had stopped two trains in one wrong move. Wow, I was right when I said to myself that I would remember that image of that head for a long time.

Do people give any thought what they do moment by moment? I wonder if there were no I-pods, if trespassers would still miss hearing that approaching train. Do those quiet zones that cities set up, give an added sense of false protection? Do railfans ever feel because of the increase in deaths will authorities clamp down on them.

 

Just my wanderings for this week. Oh, by the way…a new train hobby shop museum opened in Washington, Mo my hometown. In a town where they are removing the train siding near the station and building a parking lot.  Humm

Leave a Reply

